| |

Back To News Index




Successive victories for Bapuna XI


Bapuna XI chased down Maharashtra CA’s tally of 341/8 with three balls to spare in a high-scoring league match of the U-25 Bapuna Cup (One-Day), played at the VCA Civil Lines ground on Monday (Oct 31, 2022). The visiting team from Maharashtra rode Harshal Kate’s 104 (98 balls) and Ranjit Nikam’s run-a-ball 68 to post a mammoth tally of 341/8 in their allotted 50 overs. Bapuna XI, however, chased down the target with three wickets and three balls to spare. Nayan Chavan made a splendid 96 off 98 balls for the home team.

In Monday’s other match, played at the Jamtha Stadium, Dinshaw’s XI carved out a narrow two-run victory over Baroda CA’s U-25 team. Prerit Agarwal 106 (106 balls) and Aniruddha Choudhary 82 (99b) shared a big partnership as Dinshaw’s XI posted 278/7 in 50 overs. Baroda batsmen made a bold attempt to chase down the target with Harsh Desai 66 (87b) and Manan Solanki 65* (61b) leading the charge but Yash Kadam (4/39) and Sanmesh Deshmukh (2/48) bowled splendidly to squeeze out a narrow victory.

The Bapuna Cup was inaugurated by Mr. Parheex Gimi, President, Bapuna Group of Industries at the Civil Lines ground on Sunday (October 30).   The Chief Guest was Mr. Hemant Gandhi, Hon. Secretary, VCA and Mr. Sharad Padhye, Hon. Jt. Secretary, VCA was the guest of honour.  

The opening match of the tournament was played between Bapuna XI and Baroda CA. Bapuna XI got off to a winning start by posting a six-wicket victory.




Scores in Brief:

26th Bapuna Cup

1st Match between: Bapuna XI vs Baroda C A

Date: 30/10/2022

Ground: VCA Civil Lines, Nagpur

Toss won by Bapuna XI & elected to Bowl


Baroda C A: 251/10 in 48.1 Overs

Shivalik Sharma 98 (98) 4x7, 6x5

Shlok Desai 54 (55) 4x6

Mohit Mongia 36 (54) 4x2, 6x2

Praful Hinge 4/41


Bapuna XI: 255/4 in 47.4 Overs

Mandar Mahale 98 (95) 4x8, 6x1

Nayan Chavan 62* (75) 4x2. 6x2

Aniket Pande 34* (31) 4x4. 6x1

Result: Bapuna XI won by 6 wkts.

2nd Match between: Bapuna XI vs Maharashtra C A

Date: 31/10/2022

Ground: VCA Civil Lines, Nagpur

Toss won by Bapuna XI & elected to Bowl


Maharashtra C A: 341/8 in 50 Overs

Harshal Kate 104 (98) 4x10, 6x4

Ranjit Nikam 68 (69) 4x7, 6x1

Nachiket Bhute 3/51

Praful Hinge 2/77


Bapuna XI: 342/7 in 49.3 Overs

Nayan Chavan 96 (98) 4x5, 6x2

Mandar Mahale 70 (65) 4x7

Aniket Pande 67 (60) 4x7, 6x1

Manoj Yadav 2/20, Anand Thenge 2/73

Result: Bapuna XI won by 3 wkts.


3rd Match between: Dinshaw’s XI vs Baroda C A

Date: 31/10/2022

Ground: VCA Jamtha, Nagpur

Toss won by Dinshaw’s XI & elected to Bat


Dinshaw’s XI: 278/7 in 50 Overs

Prerit Agarwal 106 (106) 4x16, 6x1

Aniruddha Choudhary 82 (99) 4x9

Dhruv Patel 2/39

Harsh Desai 2/41

Hemant Punde 2/45


Baroda C A: 276/7 in 50 Overs

Harsh Desai 66 (87) 4x7, 6x1

Manan Solanki 65* (61) 4x7

Dhruv Patel 46 (41) 4x2, 6x2

Yash Kadam 4/39,

Sanmesh Deshmukh 2/48

Result: Dinshaw’s XI won by 2 runs.


Back To News Index