About The Association

Vidarbha Cricket Association is one of the oldest Cricket Association in India. Looking after the cricketing activities in the Vidarbha region it has produced some of the best national and international players.

VCA hosted its first match in 1929 and was the tenth cricket venue in the country. Padma Bhushan Cottari Kanakaiya Nayudu, popularly known as CK Nayadu or just 'CK' was a cricketing gem from Vidarbha. He captained the Indian Team against England at Lords in 1932.

The Civil lines ground situated in the heart of Nagpur has seen many great International and National sides play thereat. With passage of time and popularity of the game VCA constructed a state of art International Cricket Stadium at Jamtha, 16 Km from the Civil lines Stadium. The new stadium is one of the best International Cricket Venue and has been highly praised by crickets, experts as well as journalists. Cricketer turned Celebrity Commentator Alan Wilkins in one of his visits, said “It is a fabulous stadium, a Coliseum here in Nagpur. It has the most impressive Press box for the travelling media. It really is a wonderful venue”.


  • The Vidarbha Cricket Association was formed in 1934 at Nagpur.
  • In 1948, the name C.P. & Berar Cricket Association was changed to "Madhya Bharat Cricket Association".
  • In 1957, the name "Madhya Bharat Cricket Association" was changed to "Vidarbha Cricket Association".
  • The line of stalwarts who have held office as the Presidents of our esteemed Association starts with Justice H.F.Pollock followed by such distinguished personalities as Rao Bahaddur, S.N.Godbole, I.S.Nanjiani, Jamnadas Daga, N.K.P.Salve, D.S.Panditji, V.R.Manohar, P.R.Mundle and Shri.S.V.Manohar.
  • The founder Secretary was Mr.Brown and the great personalities following in his footsteps were S.K.Wankhede, Vishvanath Rao, M.W. Mandpe, D.S.Godbole, G.K.Kelkar & R.V. Dhanwate.
  • India won two of its ICC World Cup Championships when Mr. N.K.P. Salve (1983) & Mr. S.V. Manohar (2011) were BCCI President respectively. A proud moment for all VCA members.
  • Thus, it has been a glorious & at times a bittersweet journey of our Association. Great Cricketers of those times have been associated with our Association. C.K.Nayudu the greatest of them all along with M.V.Wagh, N.D.Sane, Kamraj Kesari among other great many.
  • The Association reached its pinnacle of Indian Cricket history when in 2017-18 it won the Ranji Trophy Championship and the Z.R.Irani Cup. Proving that twin achievements were no fluke, the Ranji team repeated the feats in 2018-19 season also.
  • The junior teams proved no lesser to the seniors and in the season 2016-17, the VCA Under-16 Boys lifted the Vijay Merchant Trophy the first BCCI Tournament ever won by VCA.
  • The Under-19 boys, not to be outdone, won the multiday Cooch Behar Trophy in 2017-18 and the One Day Vinoo Mankad Trophy in 2018-19.
  • Keeping up with these achievements, our boys U-23 Team won the first BCCI Under-23 One Day Championship in 2018-19 and proudly won the multiday Col. C.K. Nayudu Trophy in the season 2019-20.
  • Now our Trophy cabinet is full! But is the Cup filled to the brim? A bright awaits Vidarbha Cricket.