Back To News Index

VCA NEWS: VCA president inaugurates Dorairajan Trophy

The 12th edition of M. N. Dorairajan Invitation (Multi-Day) Cricket Tournament was inaugurated by VCA President Justice Vinay M. Deshpande (former judge of Bombay High Court) at the VCA’s Civil Lines Stadium on Wednesday (March 20, 2024).

VCA Vice-President Dr Avinash Deshmukh and Joint-Secretary Mr Chandrakant Manke also graced the occasion. The VCA officials paid floral tribute to the former Vidarbha Ranji Trophy player after whom the tournament is named  

In spite of overnight rain, the opening match between Indian Gymkhana and Reshimbagh Gymkhana at the Civil Lines ground got off to a smooth start with the latter winning the toss and electing to bat first.

The matches between Ruby Colts and Navniketan CC at VCA’s Kalamna Ground, VMV CC and MSSC at S.B. City College Ground and Advocates XI vs AIR at Guru Nanak College Ground got off to a slightly delayed start.

However, no play was possible at the DY Patil School and Pandav College grounds because of unsuitable underfoot conditions.

BRIEF SCORES (Day 1 of the opening round fixtures -- March 20-21, 2024)

Group A

At VCA Civil Lines Stadium
Reshimbagh Gymkhana 1st innings 291 all out in 76 overs (Siddharth Yeltiwar 103, Sandesh Durugwar 55, Shreeyog Pawar 72; Gaurav Dhoble 5/91)
Indian Gymkhana 1st innings 1/0 in 2 overs

At VCA’s Kalamna Ground
Ruby Colts 1st innings 98 all out in 28.5 overs (Varun Bisht 35; Rajsingh Chavan 3/40, Shantanu Chikhale 3/12)
Navniketan CC 1st innings 169/1 in 48 overs (Faiz Sheikh 89 batting, Akshay Agarwal 65)  

At DY Patil School Ground
Anurag Kamptee vs Eleven Stars CC
No play was possible on Day 1

Group B

At S.B. City College Ground
Ministerial Services Sports Club 1st innings 276/8 in 61 overs (Shivam Deshmukh 127, Vedant Jajoo 46, Shailedndra Yadav 32; Himanshu Bante 5/97, Lavkush Yadav 3/51))
VMV CC yet to bat

At Pandav Ground: MRCC vs Lipton Cricket Club
No play was possible on Day 1

 At Guru Nanak Pharmacy College Ground

Advocate’s XI Cricket Club 1st innings 242 all out in 65.1 overs (Anuj Lande 43, Pawan Chandel 78; Pushpak Gujar 5/77, Kshitiz Dahiya 3/48)
All India Reporter yet to bat

Back To News Index