| |

Back To News Index

VCA NEWS: Mumbai hold nerve to lift Bapuna Cup

Mumbai players held their nerve to successfully defend their tally of 158 and prevail over Dinshaw’s XI by 11 runs in the final of the Bapuna Cup T20 Tournament that concluded at the VCA’s Civil Lines ground on Saturday.

In a keenly contested final Dinshaw’s XI held the upper hand for the better part of the game, but Mumbai pacers Dhawal Kulkarni and Tushar Deshpande bowled superbly at the death to choke the home team.

Chief Guest, Mr Parheez Gimi, president of Bapuna Group of companies, handed over the winners’ trophy to the Mumbai captain Prasad Pawar, while VCA president Justice Vinay M. Deshpande (Retd) gave away the runners-up trophy to Dinshaw XI skipper Akshay Karnewar.

VCA Hon. Secretary Mr Sanjay Badkas, Joint-Secretary Mr Chandrakant Manke and CADC chairman Mr Prashant Vaidya were also present at the prize distribution function.

Earlier, Dinshaw’s XI captain Akshay Karnewar won the toss and opted to bowl first. His decision paid off as pacer Rajneesh Gurbani drew first blood by dismissing opener Angkrish Raghuvanshi (10). Mumbai, thereafter, lost wickets at regular intervals and were bowled out for 158 despite a fighting knock of 47 from Hardik Tamore.

Dinshaw XI openers Sanjay Ramaswamy (32) and Siddhesh Wath (39) got their team off to a flying start, adding 76 runs in 9 overs. However, with both batsmen getting run out in successive balls, the momentum shifted back to Mumbai.

Mandar Mahale (22) and Mohit Kale (19) added 43 runs for the third wicket to raise Dinshaw XI’s hopes but with both falling in the 17th over, Mumbai were once back in the driver’s seat. Tushar In spite of a few big hits from Akshay Karnewar and Darshan Nalkande, it proved to be a bridge too far for Dinshaw XI.


Toss: Dinshaw’s XI, opted to field

Mumbai 158 all out in 20 overs (Hardik Tamore 47, Divyansh Saxena 30; Rajneesh Gurbani 3/12, Parth Rekhade 2/24)

Dinshaw’s XI (Sanjay Ramaswamy 32, Siddhesh Wath 39, Mandar Mahale 22; Tushar Deshpande 3/27)

Result: Mumbai won by 11 runs

Player of the Tournament: Mandar Mahale (160 runs & 5 wkts)

Best Batsman: Mohit Kale: (170 runs)

Best Bowler: Rajneesh Gurbani (10 wkts)

Back To News Index