Back To News Index

VCA NEWS: Raj Singh Trophy final Vidarbha finish runner-up

Vidarbha boys went down fighting on the last day of the four-day final of the U-14 Raj Singh Dungarpur Trophy in Meerut on Monday.

Resuming on their overnight score of 223/4, Vidarbha boys added another 42 runs before declaring their second innings on 265/5 in 70 overs with Krish Sonkusre making 73 and Kauthubh Choudhary contributing a quickfire unbeaten 36 off 48 balls.

It left Rajasthan needing 180 runs for an outright victory. Vidarbha’s Manav Wakode dismissed both Rajasthan openers --- Darshan Pachar (15) and Tarun Kumar (12) to raise hopes but Shifan Khan (101, 130b, 4x16, 6x1) and Aaryaman Sharma (52, 86b, 4x6) saw their team home in 44.4 overs without any further loss of wickets.

Vidarbha boys, thus finished runners-up in the tournament.

 BRIEF SCORES (At close Day 3)

U-14 Raj Singh Dungarpur Trophy (Multi-Day) FINAL

Venue: Meerut (Victoria Park Ground)

Date: 19-22, May 2023

Toss: Won by Vidarbha, opted to bat

Vidarbha 1st innings 153 all out in 56.3 overs

Rajasthan 1st innings 239 all out in 91.2 overs

Vidarbha 2nd innings 265/5 decl in 70 overs (Manav Wakode 65, Jayesh Kumbhare 32, Krish Sonkusre 73, Kaustubh Choudhary 36 n.o.)

Rajasthan 2nd innings 182/2 in 44.4 overs (Shifan Khan 101 n.o., Aaryaman Sharma 52 n.o.)

Result: Rajasthan won by 8 wickets 

Back To News Index